You are here

Buescher, Brian C.

Born January 16, 1975 in Beatrice, Nebraska; grew up on a farm near Deweese, Nebraska

Federal Judicial Service

Judge, U.S. District Court, District of Nebraska

Nominated by President Donald Trump on November 13, 2018 to a seat vacated by Senior Judge Laurie Smith Camp. Confirmed by the U.S. Senate on July 24, 2019, by a vote of 51-40, and sworn in August 7, 2019.


Georgetown University Law Center, J.D., 2000

University of Nebraska-Lincoln, B.A., Economics and Political Science with Honors and High Distinction, 1997

Sandy Creek High School, Fairfield, Nebraska, Valedictorian, Class of 1993

Professional Career

Kutak Rock LLP, Associate Attorney 2000-2007, Partner 2007-2019, Chair, National Agribusiness Litigation Group, 2009-2019


Nebraska Bar Association

Omaha Bar Association

Knights of Columbus, 1993-present

Honors and Awards

Chair, Agricultural Law Section, Nebraska Bar Association (2007-2010; 2015-2017)

Excellence in Agricultural Law Award for Private Practice, American Agricultural Law Association (2017)

Chair, Environmental Law Section, Nebraska Bar Association (2009-2010)

Ten Outstanding Young Omahans (TOYO) Award, Omaha Jaycees (2008)

Editor-in-Chief, The Georgetown Journal of Legal Ethics (1999-2000)

St. Thomas More Award for Outstanding Publication in Legal Ethics (2000)

Vice President, Georgetown University Law Center Student Bar Association (1999-2000)

President, Society of Innocents, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (1997)

Phi Beta Kappa, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (1997)

Chancellor's Scholar, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (1997)

University of Nebraska full-tuition Regents Scholarship (1993-1997)

Former Memberships

Iowa Bar Association (2010-2019) (currently inactive)

American Agricultural Law Association

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

United States District Court for the Northern District of Iowa

United States District Court for the Southern District of Iowa

United States Court of Federal Claims

Downtown Omaha YMCA Board of Directors