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Speaking in Complete Sentences
by Laurie Smith Camp

The illustration for this article is an etching of a painting enti-
tled: "The Justice of the King."1 The man seated at the table
has been found guilty of striking another man in the presence

of the King. The penalty is loss of a hand. The King is handing a
sword to the victim to carry out the sentence.2

In this etching, we see from the accused party's expression and his
relaxed attitude that he does not expect his sentence to be carried out.

Like the defendant in the etching, many criminal defendants sen-
tenced in Nebraska do not expect to serve the sentences they
receive. Generally, they are proven to be right.

The U.S. Department of Justice reports that most states are moving
toward sentencing structures which are increasingly determinate or
"predictable." Such states are using mandatory minimum terms, less

good time, and truth-in-sentencing statutes which require that
inmates serve a certain percentage of their maximum terms.3 At
least 27 states, and the District of Columbia, have adopted systems of
sentencing which require that inmates who have committed serious
crimes of violence serve not less than 85 percent of the court-
imposed sentence.4 Inmates in the federal correctional system serve
an average of 87 percent of their court-imposed sentence.5

Nebraska's most dangerous, violent offenders serve only an average
of 45 percent of their maximum, court-imposed sentence.6

The purpose of this article is not to advocate for longer sentences or
shorter sentences, nor to suggest barbaric "alternatives to incarcera-
tion" such as that illustrated in the etching. This article's objective is
to demonstrate why Nebraska's sentencing structure is puzzling to
many lawyers, as well as to the general public and crime victims.

Nebraska has an indeterminate sentencing system. This means that
when a judge sentences a defendant for a felony offense, the judge
can impose a minimum term which is used to figure parole eligibili-
ty, and a maximum term which is used to figure when the defendant
will be discharged.7 Because inmates receive good time on their
sentences, the public is generally not aware of how long an inmate
will serve before becoming eligible for parole or being discharged.8

To address this problem, the Nebraska Legislature enacted LB 529 in
1993. The bill accomplished three things. First, it required sentenc-
ing judges to state on the record the time the defendant will serve
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before becoming eligible for parole and
before being discharged, assuming that he
or she lost no good time.  Second, it repealed
a statute which provided that if a judge did
not impose a minimum term, the statutory
minimum term for the offense would be
used to figure the parole eligibility date.
The repeal of that statute allowed Nebraska
judges to impose determinant sentences pro-
viding for no parole eligibility.  Third, the
new law repealed a statute, which provided
that minimum terms could be no greater
than one-third of the statutory maximum
term for the offense. 

After the enactment of LB 529 in 1993,
Nebraska's prison population increased
dramatically.  At the same time, violent
crime in Nebraska decreased.  Judges were
making use of their new authority to
impose determinant sentences, preventing
some inmates from becoming eligible for
parole. Judges were also using their new
authority to impose minimum terms
greater than one-third of the statutory
maximum, thereby delaying inmates,
parole eligibility. One can only speculate
whether judges imposed longer sentences
as a result of the requirement that they
state on the record the amount of time an
inmate would serve before becoming eligi-
ble for parole or being discharged. 

In 1997, the Legislature decided that it could
not afford to provide judges with the sen-
tencing discretion, which LB 529 permitted,
nor could it afford truth-in--sentencing.  To
reduce prison crowding, the Legislature
reinstated the one-third cap on minimum
sentences for Class IV felonies,  and elimi-
nated determinant sentencing -- providing
that if a court imposed a sentence of a defi-
nite term of years, the statutory minimum
term for the offense would be used to figure
parole eligibility. 

Now you will be quizzed on what you have
learned. If you skipped the footnotes, you are
at a disadvantage. Please complete the sam-
ple sentences, then check your answers on
the next page. If you find the answers sur-
prising, you are not alone.

Nebraska's criminal sentencing statutes can be
misleading and unpredictable, and they place
substantial discretion in the hands of parole
board members and prison administrators to
determine how much of the court--imposed
sentence an inmate will actually serve.

SSaammppllee  SSeenntteenncceess2211

How long will the inmate
serve before being eligible
for parole?

How long will the
inmate serve before
being discharged?

If good? If good?If bad?19 If bad?
Class IV Felony, e.g., driving
on a license which has
been revoked for a third or
subsequent DWI - 20 month
to five year sentence20

Class III A Felony, e.g.,
assault on an officer
using a motor vehicle -
5-year sentence (no
minimum stated)

Class III Felony, e.g.,
manslaughter - 20 year sen-
tence (no minimum stated)

Class II Felony, e.g., 1st

Degree Sexual Assault - 50
year flat sentence (no mini-
mum stated)

Continued on page 6
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tenced under current law receive six months of good
time per year on the maximum term credited from the
date of sentence. The minimum term is merely reduced
by half to determine parole eligibility, although no such
reduction is allowed on "mandatory minimum" terms,
and parole eligibility is deferred for inmates who use
drugs or alcohol or who refuse to comply with a "depart-
ment-approved personalized plan."

9Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-2204 (Cum. Supp. 1998).

10Neb. Rev. Stat. § 83-1,105 (1987).

11State v. Cook, 251 Neb. 781 (1997); Johnson v. Clarke
258Neb. 316 (1999), 5 Neb. App. 496 (1997).

12Neb. Rev. Stat. § 83-1,105 (1987).

13Department of Correctional Services annual reports
show incarcerations rates of 2673 in FY 94/95; 3016 in
IFY 95/96; 3231 in FY 96/97; and 3334 in FY 97/98.

14Nebraska Crime Commission annual statistical
reports show arrests for violent crime in Nebraska of
1746 for 1995, 1536 for 1996, and 1507 for 1997.

15In September of 1995, the Nebraska Department of
Correctional Services reported that 407 of the 2,085
inmates committed since the effective date of LB 529
had received longer sentences as a direct result of the
bill. The average length-of-stay increases were six
months for Class IV felonies; 23.5 months for Class III
felonies; 93.5 months for Class 11 felonies; and 112.5
months for Class IB felonies.

16LB 364, 1997 legislative session, legislative history.
The bill became "operative" on July 1, 1998. 

17Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-2204 (Cum. Supp. 1998).

18Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 29-2204 and 83-1,105.01 (Cum.
Supp. 1998).

19Assume the inmate has not been found guilty of drug
or alcohol offenses, and has complied with a "depart-
ment-approved personalized plan," although he or she
otherwise has spread terror throughout the institution.

20This is now the longest minimum term which can be
imposed for such an offense. A review of the files of
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SSaammppllee  SSeenntteenncceess  AAnnsswweerrss
Class IV Felony, e.g., driving on a license 10 months      10 months     2.5 years     5 years
which has been revoked for a third or 

subsequent DWI - 20 month to
five-year sentence

Class III A Felony, e.g., assault on an officer 0 0              2.5 years     5 years
using a motor vehicle - 5-year sentence 
(no minimum stated)

Class III Felony, e.g., manslaughter 6 months         6 months     10 years       20 years 
- 20 year sentence (no minimum stated)

Class II Felony, e.g., 1st Degree Sexual 6 months         6 months     25 years       50 years 
Assault - 50 year flat sentence
(no minimum stated)

such offenders who received minimum sentences
greater than one-third of the maximum term prior to
the effective date of LB 364 revealed that they had an
average of 21 prior offenses and an average of more
than three prior Driving Under Suspension convictions.

21This final footnote is for those of you who are still lost
in Nebraska's statutory sentencing maze. On the Class
IV Felony, the 20-month court-imposed minimum term
is reduced by half to compute parole eligibility, whether
or not the inmate is "good." On the Class IIIA, III and IV
Felonies, no minimum was stated by the court, and so
the statutory minimum terms for the offenses are
imposed by operation of law. The statutory minimum
term for a Class IIIA Felony is zero, and so the inmate is
eligible for parole immediately. The statutory minimum
terms for Class III and Class II Felonies are one year.
Those terms are reduced by half to compute parole eligi-
bility, whether or not the inmates are "good." All the
maximum terms, used to compute discharge dates, are
reduced by six months good time per year, credited from
the date of sentence. Good time is forfeited only after
due process hearings. See Neb. Rev. Stat. ss 20-105,
830-1, 107 and 83-1, 110 (Cum. Supp. 1998); and 83-4,
109 to 83-4, 123 (1994).

Footnotes
1The Justice of the King" is the work of Scottish painter
John Faed.

2In early criminal codes, imprisonment was not used as
a punishment for crime, although prisons and dungeons
were used to detain accused criminals pending trial or
to confine political prisoners and hostages. Early codes
such as that of Hammurabi (18 1h Century B.C.), the
Hebrews (14 1h Century B.C.), and Draco (7th Century
B.C.) prescribed death and mutilation as punishments.
William the Conqueror abolished the death penalty in
England (temporarily) in about 1080 A.D., substituting
trial by ordeal. Once the trial was over, the question of
punishment was moot. The first prisons to be used as
punishment for crimes emerged in Europe in the
1700's. The first penitentiary in the United States was
established by Quakers in Philadelphia in 1789.

3Bureau of Justice Assistance, National Survey of
State Sentencing Structures, Monograph, September
1998, pp.xi, 18; National Institute of Justice,
"Sentencing & Corrections, Issues for the 21st
Century," September 1999.

4U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice
Programs, "State Efforts to Manage Violent Long-
Term Offenders," 1998-99; Violent Offender
Incarceration and Truth-in-Sentencing Incentive
Grants FY 1999 Program Guidance and Application
Kit (U.S.D.J. Office of Justice Programs).

5Bureau of Justice Statistics Special Report, Federal
Justice Statistics Program, June 1999.

6State Efforts to Manage Violent Long-Term Offenders,"
supra, at p.56. The U.S. Department of Justice defines
such offenders as those committing murder, non-negli-
gent manslaughter, forcible rape, aggravated assault,
and robbery. Violent Offender Incarceration and Truth-
in-Sentencing Incentive Grants, supra, at p.2-3.

7Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 29-2204 and 83-1,105.01 (Cum.
Supp. 1998). Fourteen states have completely aban-
doned indeterminate sentencing. See "Sentencing &
Corrections, Issues for the 21st Century," supra, at p.3.

8Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 83-1,107 and 83-1,110 (Cum. Supp.
1998). Inmates in Nebraska's prison system are serving
time under six different good time laws. Those sen-
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